Important stages in a baby’s development

The phases of development are obvious but they do not happen at the same time and there is no fixed schedule so these stages will vary from one baby to another. But we have grouped them into five main periods:

1) Prenatal Period – before birth,

2) Neonatal – first 28 days after birth,

 3) Infancy – up to 1 year,

4) Toddler – 1-3 years old,

5) Preschooler – ages 3-5 years old,


6) Child – represents a child from age half a year to about 10 years old

 7) Pre-adolescent – 9-12 years old

8) Adolescence – up to 18 years old

The five stages of child development are:

1. Prenatal period.

-The time from conception through the birth process is the prenatal period. In this stage, a baby grows and develops in the womb. It was previously thought that this period was uneventful, but with the advent of new technology such as ultrasounds and fetal MRIs, this stage is now known to be critical for many types of development, both physical and mental.

– Babies are extremely vulnerable in the womb, but they begin to recognize sounds that their mothers make. They may also recognize her voice before birth – which is why singing is an effective way for women to bond with their babies before they are born.

2. Neonatal Period


A baby is a child from the age of newborn to 11 months refers to a newborn until one year or 12 months. Babies cannot do for themselves and depend on someone else for care and protection. They can’t even roll over in bed without assistance because babies between 0-3 months are not developed enough to do so. Their brains have not developed to the point where they can control their bodies. At approximately 7-8 months, babies learn how to roll over on their own. Babies also can’t sit up without help until about 8-10 months because the spine and neck muscles aren’t strong enough at this time for them to hold up their heads by themselves. Babies are born with the ability to smile, laugh, grasp onto objects, and see their parent’s faces. They cannot however do any of these things without assistance because they aren’t developed enough yet. Development happens at different times for every baby because it is all based on them growing into that stage of development. The average weight of a newborn is 7-8 pounds.

3. Infancy

– Babies can begin to recognize the difference between “yes” and “no” – especially if they are asked to do something.

– In the next few months, babies will begin to understand that objects still exist even if they can’t see them.

– This is known as object permanence.

– They also begin to become more aware of their hands.

4. Toddlerhood

– Toddlers now have a better understanding of cause and effect.

– They can also follow simple instructions such as requesting a snack or diaper change by pointing to it.

5. Preschooler Age

– Preschoolers can put words to objects that they don’t know the name for.

– They are also beginning to learn how to classify things into types or groups, such as “doggie” vs. “feline.”

Childhood Development Stage

– By age six, children begin to understand abstract concepts like time, justice, and equality.

– They are becoming more aware of themselves as individuals separate from their family.

– Children begin to understand the difference between “me” and “not me.”

– They can form simple sentences with 2 to 4 words – such as “I want milk!” – but still have difficulty understanding complex statements or questions.

Leave a Comment